Sunday, August 19, 2012

How to Connect MiniDV and Hi8 Camcorders to a PC

This is the best way to connect your "old" format camcorders to a computer so you can upload and play the footage digitally.  I am sure you recognize the familiar red, white and yellow cable connections.

              Avid Technology Dazzle DVD Recorder HD V14.0

Most camcorders ship with that RCA cable so you can connect your camera to a TV or VCR.  But computers don't have an RCA connection.  This contraption allows you to plug the red, white and yellow end into the Dazzle and the USB connection into your computer. DVD burning software comes with the Dazzle so you can send your camcorder footage directly to DVD. But I use it to capture my footage and then edit it using my video editing software. Either way, it is in your computer! People constantly ask me how to transfer old footage to a computer and this is the best device on the market.

Product Description

Featuring a high-quality video capture device plus powerful Pinnacle Studio HD v.14 editing software, Dazzle DVD Recorder HD makes it easy to create movies like a pro. Quickly import videos and photos, then edit scenes and add professional polish with an extensive library of effects, transitions, and soundtrack options

Thursday, August 02, 2012

Closing Ceremonies Olympics 2012 LIVE on Roku BBC News

Watching the Closing Ceremonies live now on BBC/Roku player. Quality is excellent! 

If you have a Roku player, - For Streaming Movies....Play, Rewind, Pause Through the Internet! Click here! you can see the Closing Ceremonies of the Olympics 2012 LIVE on the BBC News private channel (NBC is streaming it live online also if you have a cable subscription). (if you need to know how to install the BBC channel, scroll down to the Opening Ceremonies post) According to the BBC Internet Blog, here is the schedule. The times are BST (British Summer Time) which if you live in US Central Time, is 6 hours ahead:

12th August 2012 
Olympic Games review          
20.00 - 21.00
12th August 2012 
Olympic Closing Ceremony    
21:00 - 00:30 (approximately)
(followed by highlights of the day)

USA Closing Ceremony times LIVE (approximate) on BBC News/Roku:
Pacific Time - 1pm
Mountain Time - 2pm
Central Time - 3pm
Eastern Time - 4pm  
If you live in Britain and have a 3D television, the closing ceremonies are evidently in 3D. Roku users have an internet stream picture so not quite that quality! I don't care, I am grateful just to see it live. Since NBC aired Ryan Seacrest interviewing Michael Phelps instead of the memorial to the bombing victims during the opening ceremonies, I think I might buy a Roku to avoid their coverage! 
205627_No hidden fees to stream. None. Nada. Zippo.